When tomorrow comes

I usually refrain from commenting on world tragedies. I do so not because I don’t care, or because I dislike debates but because the world is a beautiful place. It is a place full of hope, of breathtaking ocean views, of smokey mountains and roaring seas. It is a place full of determination, of dreams, of art and carefully crafted history. It is a place where best friends save each other, where dogs and cats are our best friends, a place meant to nurture our souls. I don’t see the need to mar it more than the media already does.

Me at the Louvre (2011)
Normally, I stay quiet. Today is not normal. Today the ‘enfants of the Patrie’ as the Marseillaise declares celebrated their independence and today someone decided that it was a good day to make a political statement by senselessly ending human lives. Today is not normal because I love France, it is my soul country, as I like to call it. I like everything about it, from their love of beauty, to their resilience. I love the cobblestone streets in Paris and the large open spaces of the country side. I love their food, their wine, their history.

Normally, I refrain from voicing my point of view politically because I like to voice my opinion on art, and music and all the places I would like to travel to. I like make beautiful things that can go hand in hand with out beautiful world. Today I would simply like to say that all the terrorism attacks, make me loose just a little bit of hope in humanity.

I am not an idealist, I am not President Wilson in the ‘war to end all wars’, I am not the millions who want to vote for the Green Party, I am not 5 years old hoping for world peace. I know that peace is something we’ve been idealizing and never attaining since before Roman empire. I don’t expect world peace, not in my lifetime but I had hoped that after growing up in post 9/11 era our children would not live that sadness again.

And now here we are 15 years later, wondering what will we leave for our children .. “when tomorrow comes?”

One thought on “When tomorrow comes

Leave a Reply

