Balcony windows and large open spaces:

My cat likes to sit on the edge of my bed and stay there all night and onto late mornings. I like to think it’s because she loves me and wants to spend time with me; yet, I think it’s got  more to do with her looking out from my large window into the balcony.  There is a whimsical aura about her when she stays there for a long time, her eyes glaze over and I wonder if she wants to leave her confinement and wander out onto the unknown.


 

I think she does.

We all do. It’s human nature to be curious, to discover and want to embrace the world. Gypsy blood as some put it. So be it.

Perhaps I say that because I too look out the window, onto the city, onto the trains and cars and planes and wonder, ‘where are they going?”

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

It’s all so maddening the stillness that forms with the quotidian of our lives, perhaps in there lies my love for discovering new places, new foods, new people. I have been relatively busy lately and I have a few old and new adventures to share but for now I just wanted to share the thoughts that come to mind about the beauty of large balcony windows, the possibilities that come with them and our need to trail about large open spaces.
“to belong to nowhere is a blessing and a curse, like any kind of freedom”, Leah Stewart

“Paradise was always over there, a day’s sail away. But it’s a funny thing escapism. You can go far and wide and keep moving on an on though places and years but you never escape your own life”  Maarten Troost.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

