Mothers & Daughters & Escargot

It is a common misconception that adventure means a grand exploration (often dangerous) of somewhere new.

The word actually comes from the Latin root Advenire which meant ‘To Arrive’ ~  and the also Latin word Adnventurus which meant ‘about to happen’.  Neither of these hint that it has to be an out of this world (or state) experience.

How does this relate to my tittle you say?

Because last weekend I did a very calm & very local ‘adventure’ of my neighborhood. You see I must confess I had not given my mom her mother’s day gift (no judgment) and so since I was off I suggest she come over and we do a movie. We went over to Tequila Jacks Mexican restaurant ( http://www.tequilajacks.com/) for some perfect views of the Long Beach Marina and some equality amazing margaritas & milanesa.

Afterwards we headed to my apartment and proceeded to watch Mothers and Daughters rented dutifully from Amazon Prime (mom was sold because Susan Sarandon was in it). The movie while not the best cinematographic accomplishment touched on very modern themes such as; adult children taking care of older parents,  abortion, estranged families and adoption. A fun movie overall.

After the movie we went to Vons because it’s my favorite close by store and we were going to make Champagne cupcakes and I proceeded to finish painting my recycled Pellegrino bottles.


The following day since I’m not used to having weekends off I proceeded to do what anyone living by the beach on Memorial day weekend would do … go to the beach. I walked from my house to the beach & contemplated the ocean ( as much as can be done with bustling crowds of people and families ) so I headed back down to the bike bath and sat on the benches to catch my breath. I would not recommend going down that beach again on a holiday weekend… lesson learned.


As I walked the few blocks home I saw this quaint little French restaurant on the corner of Elm and 1st. It is very unassuming and I would not really have stopped there except that I remember a review on it so we stopped there. Crème de la Crepe turned out to be an exquisite little find ( Creme de La Crepe link

We had great service, a great ambiance with perfect 1950’s songs and artfully set tables to make me feel like I was back in Paris. The food was none the less great: we started with escargot, red roasted pepper soup and a buckwheat crepe. I can’t wait to go back and try their collection of Alsace apple ciders. What a satisfying stroll. A Sunday well spent.

So you see a weekend by the beach, a culinary tour of two continents, and an exploration of art and food. I’m I stretching a bit sure, but my meaning stays the same. An adventure is what you make it, life is an adventure.

 

 

Leave a Reply

